US Chess Nominating Committee Qualifies Five to Run for Executive Board

The US Chess Nominating Committee (Committee) has completed its work for the 2023 US Chess Executive Board election. The Committee recommends the following five people as prospective Executive Board candidates, in alphabetical order:

  • Leila D’Aquin (Louisiana)
  • David Day (Utah)
  • John Fernandez (Missouri)
  • David Hater (Georgia)
  • Lakshmana Viswanath (Texas)

The Committee notes that the five prospective candidates are required to supply signed petitions and background check forms to the office. All necessary forms for prospective candidates, including those who self-nominate, can be found on the Candidate Resources page of our website. Completed petitions are due by 11:59 pm CT on 12/31/2022.

The first Nominating Committee was created by the US Chess Delegates during the 2020 Special Delegates Meeting in August. At a Special Delegates Meeting in September 2020, the Delegates elected six Delegate-appointed candidates. The US Chess Executive Board appointed two members to the Committee. Going forward, the Delegates have named their six committee members at each Annual Delegates Meeting and the Executive Board names their two committee members shortly thereafter.

US Chess thanks the Nominating Committee for its dedication and exemplary work. Current members of the Committee include:

  • David Grimaud, Chair (Delegate-appointed)
  • Sophia Rohde, Vice Chair (Delegate-appointed)
  • Joy Bray (Executive Board-appointed)
  • Richard Koepcke (Delegate-appointed)
  • Michelle Martinez (Delegate-appointed)
  • Daaim Shabazz (Delegate-appointed)
  • Hal Sprechman (Executive Board-appointed)
  • Chris Wainscott (Delegate-appointed)

The Committee’s work is finished for the 2023 election and will reconvene in early 2023.

Add new comment

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.

Plain Text Comments