US Chess Premier Invitationals Start This Weekend on

Coming Soon

July 24 Update: The streamer lineup has been modified since the original post. Please scroll down to see the current streamers and schedule!

The five premier invitational events for state champions of all ages, which normally take place in conjunction with the U.S. Open, will be held over the next two weekends in an online format on

Kicking things off on Friday, July 24, is the brand new FM Sunil Weeramantry National Blitz Tournament of State Champions, a blitz tournament in three sections open to all the competitors from the invitationals.

FM Sunil Weeramantry
FM Sunil Weeramantry

The three July 25-26 weekend events will be:

GM Arnold Denker National Tournament of High School State Champions

GM Arnold Denker
Image Caption
GM Arnold Denker by Nigel Eddis

The GM Arnold Denker National Tournament of High School State Champions is an annual invitational event run by US Chess that has determined the Denker National Champion since 1985.

Denker Entrants List as of 07.23.2020: please click here.

WIM Ruth Haring National Tournament of Girls State Champions

WIM Ruth Haring
Image Caption
WIM Ruth Haring

The WIM Ruth Haring National Tournament of Girls State Champions (formerly the National Girls Invitational Tournament) is a tournament of champions for girls held annually in the model of the Denker tournament. 

Haring Entrants List as of 07.23.2020: please click here.

National Tournament of Senior State Champions

Shelby Getz
Image Caption
2019 Seniors Champion Shelby Getz. Photo by John Hartmann

The National Tournament of Senior State Champions invites the winners of the US Chess State Affiliate Senior Championships to compete for the title of National Senior Champion of Champions. This event will be held over both weekends, with rounds one through three being held the first weekend.

Seniors Entrants List as of 07.23.2020: please click here.

As many of the state affiliates were unable to hold state championship events to determine the competitors, in many cases simply the highest-rated player in the state to accept the invitation has been selected as the competitor.

How to Watch

Weeramantry Blitz

When: July 24, 7:00-10:00 pm EDT

Streamers: GM Robert Hess and WGM Katerina Nemcova 

Where:, and


When: July 25 and July 26, 11:00 am-1:30 pm; 3:00-5:30 pm; 7:00-9:30 pm EDT


Saturday: GM Robert Hess and WGM Jennifer Shahade with special guest WGM Katerina Nemcova. Watch on

Sunday: GM Hikaru Nakamura and IM Danny Rensch. Watch on ,, or


All the Details

For detailed information on all of the events, please follow these links:

2020 Online Invitationals: Overview, Schedule, & Prizes

2020 Online Invitational: Rules 

Next Weekend, August 1-2

The weekend of August 1-2 will complete the roundup, with the Seniors event finishing rounds four through six and The Dewain Barber National Tournament of Middle School State Champions and the brand new John D. Rockefeller III National Tournament of Elementary School State Champions kicking off. More information will be provided about these events next week, including the final streamer list and schedule. Currently scheduled to stream: IM Kassa Korley, WGM Tatev Abrahamyan, IM Danny Rensch, and IM Lavy Rozman.


Thank You!

US Chess thanks the following individuals, organizations, and businesses for their support of the 2020 Online National Invitational Events (in alphabetical order):

Dewain Barber

Dwight Barber

Ralph Bowman and Staff

Ursula Foster Scholarships

             Clifford Lester

             Rick Lester

Internet Chess Club (ICC)

National State Invitationals Committee

             Jon Haskel, Chair

             Dewain Barber

             David Grimaud

             Maureen Grimaud

             Al Lawrence

             John D. Rockefeller V

             Sunil Weeramantry

             Harold J. Winston

John D. Rockefeller V

Richard and Barbara Schiffrin

Tournament Directors

             Chief TD Jon Haskel

             John D. Rockefeller V

             Danny Rohde

             Christina Schweiss

             Judit Sztaray

             Eric Vigil

             Joe Yun

             Brian Yang

Charles D. Unruh

US Chess Executive Board

US Chess Staff

U.S. Chess Trust








US Chess Trust