Saint Louis Chess Club to Host Second Annual Cairns Cup

The inaugural Cairns Cup featured ten of the top female players in the World
SAINT LOUIS (December 18, 2019) — For the second time, the Saint Louis Chess Club will host the Cairns Cup, an elite level tournament for the top female players from around the world. Inspired by its mission to further promote the game of chess to females, the Chess Club aptly chose the name Cairns Cup in honor of co-founder Dr. Jeanne Sinquefield’s maiden name. Fans can look forward to a chess tournament similar in style to the prestigious Sinquefield Cup with the ten best female players from around the world competing in the Chess Club’s world-renowned facility for a $180,000 prize fund. More information about player’s selected will be announced in January 2020.  What: Second Annual Cairns Cup Who: Ten of the top female players from around the world When: February 6-17, 2020 Where: Saint Louis Chess Club, 4657 Maryland Ave, St. Louis, MO 63108
DAY DATE TIME EVENT
Thursday 6-Feb 6:00 PM Private Opening Ceremony
Friday 7-Feb 1:00 PM Round 1
Saturday 8-Feb 1:00 PM Round 2
Sunday 9-Feb 1:00 PM Round 3
Monday 10-Feb 1:00 PM Round 4
Tuesday 11-Feb 1:00 PM Round 5
Wednesday 12-Feb Rest Day/Community Day
Thursday 13-Feb 1:00 PM Round 6
Friday 14-Feb 1:00 PM Round 7
Saturday 15-Feb 1:00 PM Round 8
Sunday 16-Feb 1:00 PM Round 9
Monday 17-Feb 1:00 PM Playoff
6:00 PM Private Closing Ceremony

Comments

In reply to by anonymous_stub (not verified)

Who are the players?

Add new comment

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.

Plain Text Comments

Share Your Feedback

We recently completed a website update. If you notice a formatting error on this page, please click here.