2019 US Chess Annual Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 US Chess Annual Awards, presented Saturday at the US Chess Awards Luncheon. https://twitter.com/USChess/status/1160303163792142338 Full details, including photographs of Award winners, can be found in our 2019 Annual Report.
Distinguished Service Award – Francisco Guadalupe (TX), Dr. Mark Glickman (MA) Outstanding Career Achievement Award – Stephen Schneider (GA), Fred Wilson (NY), Richard ​Koepcke​ (NCA)​ Meritorious Services Award – Dr. Clyde Smith (SC), Dr. Jeanne Sinquefield  (MO)​ Special Services Award – Peter Dyson (FL), Sam and Miller Copeland (SC), Robert Simpson (NY)​ Tournament Director Lifetime Achievement Award – Steve Immitt (NY)​ Accessibility and Special Circumstances Person of the Year – Alex Relyea (NH)​ Chess City of the Year – Philadelphia, PA​ Chess Club of the Year – The Charlotte Chess Center (NC)​ Chess College of the Year – University of Texas – Rio Grande Valley​ Committee of the Year – Ethics Committee​ Frank J. Marshall Award – GM Melikset Khachiyan (CA)​ Grandmaster of the Year – GM Hikaru Nakamura (NY), GM Sam Shankland (NCA)​ Honorary Chess Mate – Carolyn Weeramantry (NY)​ Koltanowski Awards​
  • Gold – The St. Louis Chess Club (MO), Two Sigma​
  • ​Silver – Dewain and Susan Barber (SCA), Richard and Barbara Schiffrin (PA), David and​ Maureen Grimaud (SC)​
Organizer of the Year – Jon Haskel (FL)​ Outstanding Team Performance Award – 2018 Olympiad Team, 2018 World Senior Team​ Scholastic Service Award​
  • Individual – Jon Haskel (FL), Russell Harwood (TX)​
Outstanding Player Achievement Award – GM Alex Onischuk (TX)​ Tournament Director of the Year – David Hater (GA)​ Woman Chessplayer of the Year Award – Jennifer Yu (VA)​

Add new comment

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.

Plain Text Comments