Becker Study

American Artists in Action

Some chess variants and sub-genres are well-known to American audiences. Go to any big scholastic tournament and you will see dozens of “buggers” playing bughouse…

Read More »

Photo: Austin Fuller

Can You Calculate Like the 2018 Sinquefield Cup Co-champions?

Magnus Carlsen, Fabiano Caruana, and Levon Aronian, the winners of the first three Sinquefield Cups in 2013, 2014, and 2015 respectively, have tied for the 2018 title.

Let’s take a look at the critical moments of tactics, intuition, and endgame determination that led to their victories.

Read More »

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Announcements

  • US Chess Press