Saint Louis Chess Club Announces Cairns Chess Queens Award

In its latest initiative to support women's chess, the Saint Louis Chess Club (SLCC) announced the creation of the Cairns Chess Queens Award during the opening ceremony of the 2024 Cairns Cup.

As announced by Dr. Jeanne Cairns Sinquefield, this initiative will award $100,000 to up to five female players who earn the title of grandmaster between July 4, 2024, and July 4, 2029. The award is only for players who are U.S. citizens or became U.S. citizens before earning the GM title. 


Image Caption
Dr. Jeanne Cairns Sinquefield with GM Irina Krush (Photo courtesy Lennart Ootes/SLCC)


At the time of writing, GM Irina Krush is the only woman to have ever earned the GM title while representing the United States. Eleven years after earning this title, Krush was presented with her own Cairns Chess Queens Award of $100,000 for her exceptional achievements. 

US Chess Senior Director of Strategic Communications Daniel Lucas caught up with Dr. Sinquefield after the opening ceremony to discuss the Cairns Chess Queens Award in more detail: