2021 Scholar-Chessplayer Award Winners Announced

The 501(c)(3) US Chess Federation and the US Chess Trust are pleased to announce the five recipients of the 2021 Scholar-Chessplayer Awards. These awards recognize high school juniors and seniors who excel in academics, chess, and leadership. The 2021 winners will receive $3,000 each from the US Chess Trust, for a total of $15,000 in scholarship money. These scholarships, awarded annually by the U.S. Chess Trust, the National Scholastic Chess Foundation (NSCF), and US Chess, recognize and encourage outstanding high school students who promote a positive image of chess. Another thank you goes to the US Chess scholastic committee members who reviewed all the applications. The recipients are: 

NM Destynn Keuchel: junior, Solon OH, age 17 

FM Christopher Shen: junior, Powell, OH, age 17 

FM Wesley Wang: junior, Jericho, NY, age 17 

WCM Iris Zhou: junior, Creve Coeur, MO, age 17 

WIM Evelyn Zhu: junior, Jericho NY, age 16 

NM Destynn Keuchel

Top: NM Destynn Keuchel. Left to right above: FM Christopher Shen, FM Wesley Wang, WIM Evelyn Zhu, and Iris Zhou (Zhou photo by Paul Truong)

To qualify, applicants must be US Chess members and were presented with these requirements:

  1. Play at least 25 regular-rated US Chess or FIDE games during the current academic year;
  2. Show outstanding achievement in academics and chess;
  3. Have completed at least one year of chess-related community service since starting the ninth grade;
  4. Describe in an essay of 500 words how being selected as a 2021 Scholar-Chessplayer will enable the recipient to further their education, improve their chess, and allow them to continue contributing to the chess community.

For more information, please visit www.uschesstrust.org and www.nscfchess.org. The US Chess Trust is a separate 501(c)(3) organization operating independent of US Chess.