2018 US Amateur Team Playoff Set for September 22

The 2018 United States Amateur Team Championship playoff between the four regional championship teams will take place on Saturday, September 22.  The venue will be the Internet Chess Club.  Play begins at 1:00 p.m. Eastern time.

The regional champion teams and their rosters (in order of their January 2018 US Chess supplement ratings) are:

North:  Wisconsin Chess Academy (IM Erik Santarius, Alex Betaneli, Hersh Singh, Gary Aranovich)

South:  Moon’s Baboons (Benjamin Moon, Jonathan Hrach, Carter Peatman, Vishal Balyan)

East:  Carnegie Mellon (Grant Xu, David Itkin, Beilin Li, Likhit Ganedi)

West:  SJ Hackers (IM Konstantin Kavutskiy, Ivan Ke, Balaji Daggupati, Sean Hayes)

The time control will be game in 90 minutes with a 5-second delay.  The playoff will be a single-elimination bracket with two rounds.  The semifinal round will start at 1:00 p.m. Eastern time.  The championship round will start at 6:00 p.m. Eastern.

The chief tournament director will be NTD Joseph Yun.

US Chess thanks the Internet Chess Club for serving again as the platform for this national championship event.


Leave a Comment

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Announcements

  • US Chess Press