The 2021 US Chess Annual Awards

The US Chess Federation is pleased to announce the 2021 Annual Award recipients. Congratulations to all of these individuals and organizations who are advancing our mission to “empower people, enrich lives, and enhance communities through chess.”

Award Name
Distinguished Service Allen Priest
Distinguished Service Mike Nietman
Distinguished Service Award Ken Ballou (posthumous)
Outstanding Career Achievement Award Alex Dunne
Meritorious Services Award Lauren Goodkind
Meritorious Services Award Richard Smouse
Special Services Award Robert Franklin
Special Services Award Pete Tamburro
Frank J. Marshall Award Stuart Rachels
Organizer of the Year Award Abel Talamantez
Grandmaster of the Year Award Wesley So
Woman Player of the Year Award Irina Krush
Outstanding Player Achievement John A. Curdo
Outstanding Team Achievement Award US Team in FIDE Olympiad for People with Disabilities: Coach Lior Lapid
Koltanowski Award: Gold St. Louis Chess Club
Koltanowski Award: Gold John D. Rockefeller V
Koltanowski Award: Silver David H. Raymond
Committee of the Year Award Nominating Committee: Chair David Grimaud
Club of the Year Award Toms River Chess Club
Chess College of the Year Award UC Berkeley
Accessibility and Special Circumstances Person of the Year Award Joan DuBois
Tournament Director of the Year Award Joseph Yun (posthumously)
Tournament Director Lifetime Achievement Award Franc Guadalupe
Scholastic Service Award: Individual Danny Rohde
Scholastic Service Award: Organization Internet Chess Club
Dan Heisman Award for Excellence in Chess Instruction Bruce Pandolfini