Minutes of the Executive Board Meeting U.S. Chess Federation May 8-9, 2015 Gaylord Opryland Hotel, Nashville, TN

The following Executive Board members were present:

Gary Walters

Randy Bauer

Chuck Unruh

Allen Priest

Jean Hoffman

Mike Atkins

Mike Nietman

Ruth Haring

## Open Session 1, Friday, May 8, 2015

At 9 a.m. Friday, May 8, 2015 President Ruth Haring called the meeting to order. All Board members were present. A quorum was established.

# **Officer and Management Reports**

President Haring presented her report. The following matters were covered: attendance at the Spring Nationals; increase in membership; Federation finances; implementation of organizational changes; fundraising and charitable aspects of the organization.

Vice-President of Finance, Allen Priest presented his report. The following matters were covered: 9<sup>th</sup> and 10<sup>th</sup> month financial reports; cash position; repayment of debts; scholarship liabilities; plans for employee retirement plan; website redesign; budget and audit process.

The Board then went into closed session.

## Open Session 1, Saturday May 9, 2015

At 10 a.m., Saturday, May 9, 2015 President Ruth Haring called the meeting to order. All Board members except Allen Priest were present. A quorum was established.

Director of National Events, Francisco Guadalupe, was a guest at the meeting as were parents and coaches of players attending the National Elementary Championship.

President Ruth Haring welcomed everyone and referred to the new mission statement; explained the Executive Board's function in the governance process; and handed out a list of upcoming Women's and Girl's events.

Randy Bauer, standing in for VP of Finance Allen Priest, presented a financial overview. The following matters were mentioned: 2015 budget; website redesign; use of

consultants for special projects; fundraising development campaign; paying off accounts payable and loans.

Executive Director, Jean Hoffman, covered the Board's strategic planning process; promoting chess in education; scholastic chess; and development of new programs.

The Executive Board reviewed and responded to questions and comments from meeting guests, Richard Nathan (NY), Elizabeth Shaughnessy (N-CA), Mark Endenour (NC) and John Galvin (NY).

President Haring thanked everyone for their participation.

The meeting was recessed.

#### Open Session 2, Saturday, May 9, 2015

President Ruth Haring called the meeting to order. All Executive Board members except Allen Priest were present. A quorum was established.

Executive Director, Jean Hoffman, reported on Delegate Motions and Action Items from the last meeting and the pending new member recruitment pilot program.

Secretary, Mike Nietman, presented the following motions from closed session.

**EB15-046** The Executive Board directs the Executive Director to work with the Scholastic Council to review the Chess Coach Certification program. **Passed 6-0 with Allen Priest not present** 

**EB 15-047** Mike Atkins moves to approve a recommendation from the Ratings Committee to curb rating inflation to move the bonus point threshold from 10 to 12 points. **Passed 6-0 with Allen Priest not present** 

**EB15-048** Ruth Haring moves to name Larry Storch Chair of the Prison Chess Committee and Eric Vigil, Charles M. Unruh, Jr, Steve Frymer, Mikhail Korenman and Harold Winston as committee members with Ruth Haring as Executive Board liaison. **Passed 6-0 with Allen Priest not present** 

**EB 15-049** Mike Atkins moves that the Executive Board accept Joe Lux's resignation from the Tournament Directors Certification Committee. **Passed 6-0 with Allen Priest not present** 

**EB 15-050** The EB moves to deny the appeal of Mr. Peel in the Ethics case of Cima vs. Peel and accepts the two year membership suspension recommendation from the Ethics Committee. **Passed 6-0 with Allen Priest not present** 

**EB 15-051** The Executive Board names the following 2015 award winners:

- a. Distinguished Service Award Al Lawrence (TX), Pal Benko (Hungary)
- b. Outstanding Career Achievement Award L. Gordon Brooks (S-CA), Robert Haines (NM), Jim Talmadge (AZ)

- c. Special Services Award David Grimaud (SC), Ron Kensek (NM), Steve Perea (NM), Barbara DeMaro (NY)
- d. Meritorious Services Award Daniel Rensch (AZ), Robby Adamson (AZ), Enrique Huerta (AZ), Elizabeth Shaugnessy (N-CA)
- e. Committee of the Year Website Advisory Committee
- f. Chess City of the Year Sunrise, FL
- g. Koltanowski Awards
- i. Gold Frank Berry (OK)
- ii. Silver Amy Lee (BC)
- h. Scholastic Service Award
- i. Individual –Roger Gottschall, (IA)
- ii. Organization US Chess Trust
- i. Organizer of the Year Al and Janelle Losoff (NV)
- j. Frank J. Marshall Award Don Schultz (FL)
- k. Grandmaster of the Year Sam Shankland (N-CA)
- I. Honorary Chess Mate Myron and Rachel Lieberman (AZ)
- m. Chess Club of the Year NorCal House of Chess (N-CA)
- n. College of the Year Webster University (MO)
- o. Tournament Director of the Year Mike Hofpauir (VA)
- p. Tournament Director Lifetime Achievement Award Bill Goichberg (NY), Carol Jarecki (NY), Ira Lee Riddle (Posthumously) (PA), Joe Lux (NJ)
- q. Outstanding Player Achievement Award Hikaru Nakamura (MO)
- r. Outstanding Team Performance Award Yasser Seirawan (Netherlands), Jennifer Shahade (PA), Maurice Ashley (NY)
- s. Woman Chessplayer of the Year Award Irina Krush (NY)

## Passed 6-0 with Allen Priest not present

The meeting was adjourned.