## Proceedings of the U.S. Chess Federation Executive Board Meeting August 3, 2014 – Orlando, FL

This document is a summary of the proceedings of the meeting. It includes motions made, action items accepted and subjects discussed. Details of discussions, etc., may be obtained from the sound files online.

## Open Session 1 - Sunday, August 3, 2014

Secretary, Mike Nietman, announced the meeting. President Ruth Haring called roll. Board members Chuck Unruh, Gary Walters, Mike Nietman, Mike Atkins, Allen Priest, Randy Bauer and Jean Hoffman were present creating a quorum. Haring called the meeting to order and asked for the motions from the closed session discussion.

After recapping the passage of EB 14-055 and EB14-056, Secretary Nietman introduced three motions.

EB15-001- (Board) The Executive Board names the following officers for 2014-2015: - PASSED 7-0

President Ruth Haring

Vice President Gary Walters

Vice President of Finance Allen Priest

Secretary Mike Nietman

## **EB15-002 - (Board)** The Executive Board names the following committee liaisons and chairs for 2014-2015: - **PASSED 7-0**

Committee	Chair	EB Liaison
Audit (DEL)	Bill Brock	Allen Priest
Awards	John Donaldson	Randy Bauer
Barber Tournament of K-8 Champions	Jon Haskel, Stephen Shutt Co-Chairs	Mike Nietman
Bylaws (DEL)	Harold J. Winston, Guy Hoffman Co-Chairs	Allen Priest
Chess in Education	F. Leon Wilson	Mike Nietman
Clubs	Sevan Muradian	Chuck Unruh & Allen Priest
College Chess	Russell S. Harwood	Mike Nietman
Correspondence Chess	Brad Rogers	Gary Walters
Cramer Awards	Frank Brady	Randy Bauer
Denker Invitational	Stephen Shutt, Jon Haskel Co-Chairs	Mike Nietman
Election (DEL)	Ken Ballou	Gary Walters
Ethics (DEL)	Alex Relyea	Gary Walters
FIDE Events	Franc Guadalupe	Mike Atkins
Finance	Jim Bedenaugh	Allen Priest
Forum	Bob Messenger	Randy Bauer
Hall of Fame	Harold J. Winston	Gary Walters
Hall of Records	TBD	Mike Nietman
International Affairs	Michael Khodarkovsky	Ruth Haring
Military	Colonel Mike Hoffpauir, US Army (ret)	Gary Walters
Outreach	Myron Lieberman	Ruth Haring
PPHB Fund Management	John Donaldson	Allen Priest
Prison	TBD	Ruth Haring
Publications	Ramon Hernandez	Randy Bauer
Ratings	Mark Glickman	Mike Atkins & Chuck Unruh
Rules	David Kuhns Chair, Al Losoff Vice-Chair	Mike Atkins

Committee	Chair	EB Liaison
Scholastic Chess Council, Committee	Mike Hoffpauir, Beatriz Marinello Co-Chairs	Mike Nietman
Senior	Bob Mahan Chair, Mike Eberhardinger Vice Chair	Mike Atkins
States	Guy Hoffman	Chuck Unruh
Top Players	Camilla Baginskaite	Ruth Haring
Tournament Director Certification (TDCC)	Jeff Wiewal, Chair, Tim Just Vice Chair	Mike Atkins
US Open	Hal Terrie III	Ruth Haring
Web Site Advisory (WSAC)	Boyd Reed	Mike Nietman
Woman's Chess	Jennifer Skidmore	Ruth Haring

**EB15-003 – (Board)** The Executive Board makes the following committee membership changes: **PASSED 6-1** with Allen Priest opposed.

Awards Committee Add Bill Goichberg

Clubs Committee Add Bob Rasmussen

Hall of Fame Committee Replace Arthur Bisguier with Andrew Soltis

Hall of Records Committee Add Steve Immitt

International Affairs Committee Add Franc Guadalupe

Publications Committee Add John Hartmann

Rules Committee Remove Jabari McGreen

Scholastic Chess Council Add Aviv Friedman and Russell Harwood

Top Players Committee Add Irina Krush

Women's Chess Committee Add Janelle Losoff and Claudia Munoz

Priest read the next motion.

**EB15-004 – (Priest)** Move to authorize the Executive Director to execute whatever documents are required by our depository banks to add Cheryle Bruce as a signer of checks. **PASSED 7-0** 

President Haring announced that the Website Advisory Committee report will be posted online.

Haring opened the floor to questions. Queries about promotional memberships; procedural issues about ADM's referred to the Board; and a Prison Committee meeting were answered.

The date and location of the next Board meeting was deliberated. November 15-16, 2014 was selected with location to be determined.

Jean Hoffman introduced a final item.

**EB15-005 – (Hoffman)** Move to replace Phil Smith with Mike Nolan on the Website Advisory Committee. **PASSED 7-0** 

The meeting went into Closed Session.