US Chess Executive Board Meeting August 11, 2019 Orlando, Florida

This document is a summary of the proceedings of this meeting. It includes motions made, action items accepted, and subjects discussed. Details of discussions, etc., may be obtained from the audio files online.

OPEN SESSION Sunday, August 11

Executive Board members present:

Allen Priest, President Randy Bauer, Vice President Chuck Unruh, VP of Finance Mike Nietman, Secretary

Mike Hoffpauir, Member-at-Large
Ryan Velez, Member-at-Large
Carol Meyer, Executive Director

The following guests were present:

Myron Lieberman

Rachel Lieberman

Sophia Rohde

Sophia Rohde

Ernest E. Nix, Jr.

Bob Messenger

Steve Immitt

David Kuhns

Hareld Winstern

Morthe Underween

Harold Winston Korey Kormick Martha Underwood Hal Terrie David Raymond Michelle Martinez

Alexander Lumelsky Joan Priest David Day

The Executive Board President called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. The Secretary called the roll. A quorum was established.

The following five motions came out of the Closed Session earlier that day:

EB20-001 – **Board** – The Executive Board names the following officers for 2019-2020:

Allen Priest President
Randy Bauer Vice President

Chuck Unruh Vice President of Finance

Mike Nietman Secretary

PASSED 7-0

As each item in the following motion was read, there was a pause so that the President could provide the reasoning for the changes to those assembled.

EB20-002 – Board – The Executive Board moves the following committee changes:

a. Create a Programs Committee. The members of the committee will be the chairs of the

- program area sub-committees (see EB20-003 below).
- b. Eliminate the Denker and Barber Committees and create the Scholastic Invitational Committee which will oversee the Denker and Barber.
- c. Eliminate the Outreach Committee.
- d. Eliminate the International Affairs Committee.
- e. Rename the Awards Committee to the Recognitions Committee which will oversee US Chess awards and Hall of Fame nominations.
- f. Merge the Cramer Awards Committee into the Recognitions Committee.
- g. Rename the PPHB Fund Management Committee to the PPHB Claims Committee.

PASSED 7-0

EB20-003 – Board – The Executive Board re-designates the following Executive Board committees as program area sub-committees within the Programs Committee:

- a. Women's Chess
- b. Senior
- c. Accessibility and Special Circumstances
- d. College Chess
- e. Military Chess

PASSED 7-0

Members of the board explained how the establishment of the structure of the Programs committee and its subcommittees was beneficial to US Chess.

The President introduced the next motion by explaining the purpose of rotating the people who serve as the chairs of committees.

EB20-004 – Board – The Executive Board names the following committee liaisons and chairs for 2019-2020:

Committee	Chair	EB Liaison
Programs	Bill Brock	Randy Bauer Chuck Unruh
Accessibility and Special Circumstances	Janelle Losoff, Chair Martha Underwood, Vice-Chair	Ryan Velez
College Chess	Kelly Bloomfield	Mike Nietman
Military	Sara Walsh	Mike Hoffpauir
Senior	David Grimaud	Chuck Unruh
Women's Chess	Kimberly Doo	Ryan Velez
Competition Integrity	Gary Walters	Mike Hoffpauir Hal Sprechman
Audit *	Jon Haskel	Chuck Unruh Allen Priest
Recognitions	John McCrary	Hal Sprechman Chuck Unruh
Scholastic Invitational Committee	Jon Haskel	Mike Nietman Mike Hoffpauir
Bylaws *	Guy Hoffman, Co-Chair Richard Koepcke, Co-Chair Harold J. Winston, Vice-Chair	Allen Priest Randy Bauer
Clubs	Judit Sztaray	Ryan Velez Hal Sprechman

Committee	<u>Chair</u>	EB Liaison
Election *	TBD	Mike Nietman
		Allen Priest
Ethics *	TBD	Mike Hoffpauir
		Hal Sprechman
FIDE Events	TBD	Mike Hoffpauir
		Hal Sprechman
Finance	Jim Bedenbaugh	Chuck Unruh
		Randy Bauer
PPHB Claims	Steve Immitt	Randy Bauer
		Chuck Unruh
Ratings	Tom Doan	Mike Hoffpauir
		Mike Nietman
Rules	Ken Ballou, Chair	Mike Hoffpauir
	Al Losoff, Vice-Chair	Allen Priest
Scholastic	Sunil Weeramantry, Co-Chair	Mike Nietman
	Beatriz Marinello, Co-Chair	Ryan Velez
States and Affiliates	Richard Koepcke, Co-Chair	Mike Hoffpauir
	Alex Relyea, Co-Chair	Chuck Unruh
Top Players	Tatev Abrahamyan, Co-Chair	Allen Priest
	Robert Hess, Co-Chair	Ryan Velez
Tournament Director	Alex Relyea, Chair	Mike Hoffpauir
Certification	Jeff Wiewel, Vice-Chair	Allen Priest
US Chess Development	John D. Rockefeller V	
US Open	Hal Terrie III	Hal Sprechman
		Mike Nietman

PASSED 7-0

EB20-005 – **Board** – The Executive Board makes the following committee membership changes:

- a. Women's: Add Janelle Losoff and Robin Ramson. Remove Harold Winston, Phil Chase, Anjelina Belakovskaia, Heather Flewelling, Russell Harwood and Sophia Rohde.
- b. Rules: Remove Jabari Green.
- c. Clubs: Add Joey Troy and Steve Immitt. Remove Rob Jones, Will Barela, Dino Bonaldi, Charles Carerros, Anthony Corrales, Klaus Johnson, Thomas Mager, Frank Niro, Kenneth Poole, Bob Rasmussen, Mark Reyes, Tony Rich, Thad Rogers, Ed Sasaki, Augustine Valverde, Dennis Wajckus, Marian Wajckus and Eric Yussman.
- d. PPHB Claims: Add Sophia Rohde.
- e. Recognitions: Name Randy Hough, Bill Goichberg, Walter Brown, John Hilbert, Andy Soltis, Sophia Rhode, Pete Tamburro and Fred Wilson.
- f. Scholastic Council: Remove Eric Vigil and Joe Lonsdale. Add Jeff Bulington and Judit Sztaray.
- g. Scholastic Committee: Remove Steve Shaughnessy, Mark Wood, Jennifer Skidmore Smith and Rusty Harwood. Add Kevin McConnell, Sophia Rohde and Kevin Fite.
- h. Development: Add Allen Priest, Chuck Unruh, Randy Bauer and Mike Hoffpauir. Remove Sunil Weeramantry.
- i. FIDE Events: Add Tony Rich.

PASSED 7-0

Members of the board explained the reasons for some of the changes enumerated in EB20-005 before taking questions from the audience and clarified them in response to audience questions.

SCHOLASTIC REGULATIONS FOR 2019-2020

Changes included but were not limited to:

- The All Girls National is being brought into the regulations.
- Implementing the new US Chess policy for electronic devices.
- Revision of the Junior High Nationals sections.
- Added a section regarding eligibility to play on a school team.
- Requiring scoresheets provided by tournaments to be used.
- People below the age of 18 are not allowed to check in at hotels.
- There will be no team trophies in the unrated sections of the Spring Nationals.

The board committed to fully reviewing and voting on the new Scholastic Regulations in the week following the meeting.

When the floor was opened for audience questions the following information was shared:

- FIDE has electronic device regulations in addition to US Chess and the US Chess electronic device policy is available in the Scholastic Regulations, which are available online.
- The President referred new committee chairs and members to their committee's charter and to the committee's Executive Board liaisons as a way of familiarizing themselves with expectations for their service on the committee.
- The President affirmed that the impact of the scoresheet policy on vendors who sell scoresheet journals had been taken into account and that vendors had been consulted.

PROJECTED MEETING DATES OF THE 2019-2020 EXECUTIVE BOARD

- November 16-17, 2019 in Louisville, KY
- January 17-19, 2020 in Raleigh-Durham, NC
- May 16-17, 2020 in Dallas, TX

Exact locations within those cities had yet to be determined.

President Priest moved to adjourn the meeting.