



Minutes of the Executive Board Meeting US Chess Federation August 9, 2015 Arizona Biltmore, Phoenix, AZ

The following Executive Board members were present: Gary Walters, Allen Priest, Anjelina Belakovskaia, Ruth Haring, Mike Nietman, Michael Atkins, Randy Bauer and Jean Hoffman. Guests present included Myron Lieberman (AZ), Rachel Lieberman (AZ), Debra Robison (TN), Bob Messenger (NH), Chuck Unruh (OK), Charles M. Unruh (OK), Ken Ballou (MA), Richard Koepcke (CA-N), Harold Winston (IL), Roger Gotschall (IA), Kenneth Sloan (AL), David Kuhns (MN), Frank Camaratta (AL), Janelle Losoff (NV), Will Barela (NM), Rodney Thomas (TX), Stuart Chagrin (NY), Luis Salinas (TX), Mike Hoffpauir (VA), Al Losoff (NV), and Michael Khodarkovsky (NJ).

Open Session 1, Sunday, August 9, 2015

President Gary Walters called the meeting to order. All Board members were present. A quorum was determined.

Secretary, Mike Nietman, presented the following motions from closed session.

EB 16-001 The Executive Board names the following officers for 2015-2016:

a. Gary Waltersb. Randy BauerPresidentVice President

c. Allen Priest Vice President of Finance

d. Mike Nietman Secretary

Passed 7-0

Gary Walters thanked his predecessor, Ruth Haring, for her service as President.

EB 16-002 The Executive Board names the following committee liaisons and chairs:

Committee	<u>Chair</u>	EB Liaison
Audit *	Bill Brock	Allen Priest
Awards	John Donaldson	Randy Bauer
Barber Tournament	Jon Haskel	Mike
of K-8 Champions	Stephen Shutt	Nietman
Bylaws *	Harold J. Winston	Allen Priest
	Guy Hoffman	
Chess in Education	John Buky	Mike
		Nietman &
		Anjelina
		Belakovskaia
Clubs	Sevan Muradian	Allen Priest
		& Anjelina
		Belakovskaia
College Chess	Al Lawrence	Mike
		Nietman

Chase	Brad Rogers	Gary Walters
Chess Cramer Awards	Frank Brady	Randy Bauer
Denker Invitational	Stephen Shutt	Mike
Donkor invitational	Jon Haskel	Nietman
Election *	Ken Ballou	Randy Bauer
Ethics *	TBD	Gary Walters
FIDE Events	Carol Jarecki	Ruth Haring
Finance	Jim Bedenaugh	Allen Priest
Forum	Bob Messenger	Randy Bauer
Hall of Fame	Harold J. Winston	Gary Walters
Hall of Records	TBD	Mike Nietman
International Affairs	Michael Khodarkovsky	Ruth Haring
Military	Colonel Mike Hoffpauir,	Ruth Haring
	U.S. Army (ret)	
Outreach	Myron Lieberman	Anjelina
Discours On a serious it.	TDD	Belakovskaia
Player Opportunity Fund	TBD	Gary Walters
PPHB Fund	John Donaldson	Allen Priest
Management		5
Prison	Steve Frymer	Ruth Haring
Publications	John Hartmann	Randy Bauer
Ratings	Mark Glickman	Mike Atkins
Rules	David Kuhns, Chair Ken Sloan, Vice-Chair	Mike Atkins
Scholastic Chess Council	Mike Hoffpauir, Co-Chair Beatriz Marinello, Co- Chair	Mike Nietman
Senior	Mike Eberhardinger	Mike Atkins
States	Guy Hoffman	Mike Atkins
Top Players	Camilla Baginskaite	Ruth Haring
Tournament Director	Jeff Wiewal, Chair	Mike Atkins
Certification	Tim Just, Vice-Chair	
US Open	Hal Terrie III	Randy Bauer
Web Site Advisory	Boyd Reed	Mike
(WSAC)	Marina and Oni	Nietman
Women's Chess	Maureen Grimaud, Co- Char	Ruth Haring
	Janelle Losoff, Co-Chair	& Anjelina Belakovskaia
	Janeile Loson, Co-Chail	Dolakovskala

Passed 7-0

EB 16-003 The Executive Board makes the following committee membership changes:

- a. Publications: Add Ramon Hernandez
- b. FIDE Events: Add Jon Haskel, Mike Atkins, Ken Regan
- c. Prison: Add Larry Storch, Scout Veitch, Shawn Johnson and Will Burela
- d. Women's: Add Nisha Digs, Kimberly Doo, Jennifer Smith, Sophia Rohde and Martha Underwood
- e. Chess in Education: Remove Tony Pabon
- f. States: Remove Harvey Lerman
- g. Rules: Add Bob Messenger, Steve Immitt, David Hater. Remove Ernie Schlich
- h. Senior: Add Gordon Simons
- i. Denker: Add Al Lawrence. Remove Joe Lux

- j. Barber: Add Al Lawrence. Remove Joe Lux
- k. Scholastic: Add Garrett Scott to the Scholastic Council and move Elizabeth Shaughnessy to the Committee

Passed 7-0

EB 16-004 Gary Walters and Mike Atkins move to create an Anti-Cheating Committee with Al Losoff, Mike Hoffpauir and David Kuhns as members with additional members and a chair to be named. **Passed 7-0**

EB 16-005 Anjelina Belakovskaia moves to create a Corporate Connections Task Force that will eventually form a committee with the charter to identify opportunities to partner with corporations in the areas of leadership development, critical thinking, decision making and problem solving. Anjelina Belakovskaia will be the liaison. **Passed 7-0**

EB 16-006 The Executive Board moves to form a Special Needs and Circumstances Committee for the purpose of enjoying the benefits of serious chess in a tournament environment. Members and a chair will be named later. Ruth Haring as liaison. **Passed 7-0**

EB 16-007 The Executive Board creates a Growth and Retention Task Force with the purpose of improving the membership growth and retention rate of members. Ruth Haring will be the liaison. **Passed 7-0**

EB 16-008 Gary Walters moves to disband the Governance Task Force (GTF). Passed 7-0

EB 16-009 Allen Priest and Jean Hoffman move to adopt a 401(k) plan for eligible employees of the US Chess Federation using the Vanguard Small Plan 401(k). **Passed 7-0**

President Walters said motion #110 regarding FIDE Rating US Chess invitational events was missed in the Delegates' meeting. It will be on the agenda for the November meeting of the Board.

EB 16-010 Gary Walters moves to add Sophia Rohde to the Hall of Fame Committee. Passed 7-0

EB 16-011 Gary Walters moves to add Boyd Reed to the FIDE Events Committee. Passed 7-0

The Executive Board reviewed and responded to questions and comments from meeting attendees. Topics mentioned were US Chess purchasing the source code for Swiss Sys; donation processing for affiliates; soliciting donations from companies who place chess in their ads; and limiting the length of ADM rationales.

EB 16-012 Ruth Haring moves to add Ken Regan and Jon Haskell to the FIDE Events Committee. **Passed 7-0**

Walters announced the next Board meeting will be November 21-22, 2015 in Hampton Roads, VA. A strategic planning session will take place in January.

The meeting was adjourned.