2024 National State Invitationals Committee Report

Mike Nietman, Chair

The following national tournaments are under the jurisdiction of the National State Invitationals Committee:

- GM Arnold Denker National Tournament of High School State Champions
- WIM Ruth Haring National Tournament of Girls State Champions
- Dewain Barber National Tournament of Middle School State Champions
- John D. Rockefeller III National Tournament of Elementary School State Champions
- John T. Irwin National Tournament of Senior State Champions
- FM Sunil Weeramantry National Blitz Tournament of State Champions

2023 RESULTS

GM Arnold Denker National Tournament of High School State Champions

IM Arthur Guo (GA) won his second consecutive Denker and was the winner of the \$5,000 college scholarship. FM Terry Luo (DE) was the winner of the \$500 Ursula Foster stipend for the best result under the age of 16. The crosstable may be found at <u>US Chess MSA - Cross Table for 39TH ANNUAL</u> <u>DENKER NATL TMT OF HS STATE CHAMPS (Event 202308017692)</u>.

WIM Ruth Haring National Tournament of Girls State Champions

WCM Ruiyang Yan (CA-N) won her third(!) consecutive Haring and was awarded the \$5,000 college scholarship. Jwalanthi Ram was the winner of the \$500 Ursula Foster stipend for the best result under the age of 13. The crosstable may be found at <u>US Chess MSA - Cross Table for 11TH ANNUAL HARING</u> NATL TMT OF GIRLS STATE CHAMPS (Event 202308017742).

Dewain Barber National Tournament of Middle School State Champions

FM Erick Zhao (PA), FM Brewington Hardaway (NY), and Jasmine Zhixin Su (CT) finished in a tie for first place and Erick was the winner of the \$5,000 college scholarship on tiebreak. Jasmine was the winner of the \$500 Barber stipend for the best result under the age of 13. This award is normally for under age 12 but there was only one this year and the rules state there must be at least two or the age moves up a year. The crosstable may be found at <u>US Chess MSA - Cross Table for 13TH ANNUAL BARBER NATL TMT</u> OF MS STATE CHAMPS (Event 202308017762).

John D. Rockefeller III National Tournament of Elementary School State Champions

John Abraham (KY), Andrew Jing (DE), and Harshin Reddy Jaglirapu (NM) finished tied for first place. On tiebreaks the \$5,000 college scholarship went to John. Siva Kolli (NE) was the winner of the \$500 Rockefeller stipend for the best result under the age of nine. The crosstable may be found at <u>US Chess</u> <u>MSA - Cross Table for 4TH ANNUAL ROCKEFELLER NATL TMT OF ELEM ST CHAMPS (Event</u> <u>202308017772)</u>.

John T. Irwin National Tournament of Senior State Champions

GM Jesse Kraai (MD) and IM Nikoloz Managadze (NJ) tied for first and split \$4,000. Of special note is that GM Kraai joins GM Alex Fishbein as the only winners of both a Denker and an Irwin! FM Javier Torres (FL) won the \$500 Irwin prize for top player age 70 and over. Normally that award is reserved for the top player over age 75 but none were present so was dropped to the best player age 70 and over. The crosstable may be found at <u>US Chess MSA - Cross Table for 5TH ANNUAL IRWIN NATL TMT OF SENIOR STATE CHAMPS (Event 202208029062)</u>.

Team Competition

The team from Georgia finished in first place and won \$500 in US Chess Sales vouchers. The team was composed of their Denker representative IM Arthur Guo, Haring representative Jwalanthi Ram, Rockefeller representative Anmay Chaudhury, Barber representative Andrew Jiang, and Irwin representative James Altucher. Additional place and class prizes were won by teams from New York, California-North, Florida, Oregon, and the District of Columbia.

FM Sunil Weeramantry National Blitz Tournament of State Champions

The U.S. Open started with the FM Sunil Weeramantry National Blitz Tournament of State Champions, a free event for all invitational participants who wanted to play. The event was divided by rating into four sections. The 2200+ section was won by FM Terry Luo (DE) and FM Gus Huston (NY). In the 1800-2199 section, Eric Feng (MA) was clear first. In the 1400-1799 section, Kushagra Bhargava (CT) was the sole winner, and in the Under 1400 section, Varun Iyengar (OR) was the winner.

The committee was very active this year. With the goal of trying to fill all 265 invitational slots, we want to standardize the nomination and confirmation process prior to adding two new events in the next few years. We started by discussing and then creating a best practices document to assist the states and families in understanding the nomination and confirmation process. This document offers suggestions (not mandates) on what to include in qualifying tournaments and e-mail alerts to look for from US Chess during the process. The document may be found at <u>best-practices-for-state-affiliates-and-state-scholastic-coordinators-final.pdf (uschess.org)</u>.

Next, with the new seven-day U.S. Open format starting in 2025, the committee discussed what the invitationals would look like and what a good schedule would be. The result was a position paper outlining, amongst other items, a reduction to five rounds and, with the agreement of the office staff, the Weeramantry Blitz Tournament to be held on the Sunday evening before the tournaments begin.

The committee also discussed the possibility of starting either the GM Maurice Ashley Tournament of K-3 State Champions or the Paul Morphy Tournament of K-1 State Champions in 2025 with the Event Management team. The group is aware of necessary format changes and precautions needed for this young group and a paper was drawn up to consider these items. While we thought a distinctly separate space was available in 2025, it turned out it is not so. We will plan on starting at least one of the new events in 2026 in Grand Rapids. More next year.

Lastly, I started to research the history of the Invitationals. I've accumulated crosstables from multiple sources and created several spreadsheets of names and results. I passed along some of these that updated the alumni list on the Denker webpage, which was missing about half the names of the previous players. I believe it is up to date now, but the plan is to update all of the invitational websites.

Unfortunately, by using MSA data for some years, I was unable to completely link all players back to the state they represented. Once published, if you note any that are incorrect, please contact me. Information on winners, number of players in each event, and states represented was passed along to Ralph Bowman and Dewain Barber, who will be publishing it in Humor in Chess IV, of which all proceeds go to support the invitationals.