2024 Election Committee Report

Mike Nietman, Chair

As per the US Chess Bylaws "[t]he committee is responsible for the conduct of and shall preside over Federation elections."

Without the need for an election this year, contrary to what you may think, the Election Committee had a busy year reviewing the bylaws and website for additional changes needed in the move to an allelectronic election. The committee is proposing four ADMs to clean up and adjust the bylaws. One proposed change is to move the pulling of the electorate list to June 1 from May 5 due to not having to print a mailed ballot. Another moves candidate statements solely online. We hope our fellow delegates support these motions.

The committee is also reviewing the website and pointing out to staff where there are references to a mailed ballot. If more are found, please contact the committee chair.

The committee had two 2023 ADMs referred to it that amended the bylaws. We discussed them and have proposed suggested wording for each.

Four Executive Board seats will be up for election in 2025. They are

- Randy Bauer (continuous service since 2018)
- Mike Hoffpauir (continuous service since 2016)
- Kevin Pryor (continuous service since 2021)
- Chuck Unruh (continuous service since 2016)

The remaining Executive Board members have terms expiring in 2027 and they are

- Leila D'Aquin (continuous service since 2023)
- John Fernandez (continuous service since 2021)
- David Hater (continuous service since 2020)
- Lakshmana Viswanath (continuous service since 2023)

Article VI, Section 8 of the US Chess Bylaws limits Executive Board members to no more than eleven consecutive years of service. As such, Mr. Hoffpauir and Mr. Unruh are term limited next year.

Our thanks to our Governance Coordinator. She will be busy reaching out to registered voting members who don't have an e-mail on file. 2025 voters will need to have a valid e-mail on file.

The committee encourages all eligible voters to register and vote.