US Chess Executive Board Meeting June 15th, 2022 Zoom Meeting

This document is a summary of the proceedings of this meeting. It includes motions made, action items accepted, and subjects discussed.

OPEN SESSIONS

Executive Board members present: Mike Hoffpauir, President Chuck Unruh, VP of Finance David Hater, Member Kevin Pryor, Member Carol Meyer, Executive Director

Randy Bauer, Vice President Fun Fong, Secretary David Day, Member John Fernandez, Member

President Hoffpauir took the roll, establishing a quorum.

There were no new conflicts of interest.

Open Session

EB 22- 055 Secretary Fong moved to accept the minutes of the May meeting. PASSED 8-0

President Hoffpauir stated that the US Chess FIDE Delegate, Michel Khodarkovsky, had updated the Board on the upcoming FIDE elections. The descriptions of the four presidential tickets are available on FIDE's website

President Hoffpauir proposed the following motion:

EB 22- 056 The Executive Board moves to nominate Michael Khordarhovsky to stand for election for the position of FIDE Vice President. **PASSED 8-0**

EB22- 057 The Executive Board moves to nominate Allen Priest to FIDE to be the Zonal President for United States of America. **PASSED 8-0**

EB 22- 058 Secretary Fong stated that the Executive Board moves to approve the following awards and award recipients for the year 2021 to 2022.

For Distinguished Service: number one, Joe Ippolito; number two, Steve Immitt.

For Outstanding Career Achievement: Dave Mehler.

For Meritorious Services: Robert S. Moore.

For Special Services: David Carl Argall; number two, Daaim Shabazz

The Frank J. Marshall award: Jay Bonin.

Organizer of the Year: Al and Janelle Losoff.

GM of the Year: Hikaru Nakamura.

Woman Player of the Year: Carissa Yip.

Outstanding Player Achievement, Asa Hoffmann.

Outstanding Team Achievement: 2021 Olympiad Team.

Young Player of the Year: GM Hans Niemann; number two, GM Abhimanyu Mishra.

Chess City of the Year: Crossville, Tennessee.

Chess Committee of the Year: States and Affiliates; number two, Chess and Education Working Group.

Lifetime TD award: Tim Just.

TD of the Year: Martha Underwood.

Local TD: Kele Perkins.

Senior TD: Aaron and Anthony Ong.

Chess Club of the Year: Memphis Chess Club.

Koltanowski Gold Award: number one, John D. Rockefeller the fifth; number two, Rex and Jeanne Sinquefield; number three, George and Anne Chamberlin.

Koltanowski Silver: David and Maureen Grimaud; number two, Lin and Robert Johnson

Scholastic Services: For the individual, Alan Kirshner; number two, Kim Cramer.

Scholastic Services Organization: Impact Coaching Network,

Heisman Chess Instructor, Bill Cornwall.

PASSED 8-0

President Hoffpauir thanked Secretary Fong and all the committees that provided the recommendations and narratives accompanying them.

EB 22 - 059 Secretary Fong stated that the US Chess Executive Board approves the proposal for a new copier from Konica Minolta. The five-year lease will run \$202.57 per month for a total cost of \$12,154.20. **PASSED 8-0**

EB 22- 060 The Executive Board moves to update the signatories to its accounts with the Regions Bank by moving the existing signatories: Christine Green, Carol Lenhardt, Judith Misner, and Boyd Reed, and replacing them with the following new signatories: Christine Green, Korey Kormick and Carol Lenhardt. The staff is directed to make this transition as soon as they are able to do so. **PASSED 8-0**

The Executive Director stated that numbers are still coming in from the Spring Nationals, so there are some preliminary numbers. US Chess finished the year in the black and awaits the remaining invoices to come in before seeing final end of year numbers.

President Hoffpauir closed the meeting saying the next face-to-face meeting will be at the US Open in California, and thanking the board members for their professionalism, for their dedication and volunteerism, and expressed thanks to the Executive Director for organizing the meeting.