MOTIONS OF THE US CHESS EXECUTIVE BOARD IN FY 2016 - 2017

Note: M = Meeting, C = Conference Call, E = E-Mail, I = Internet Conference

Motion #	Sponsor	Date/Method	Subject	Disposition
EB17-001	Board	08/07/16 M	Officers Named	PASS 6-0
EB17-002	Board	08/07/16 M	Committee Chairs and Liaisons Named	PASS 6-0
EB17-003	Board	08/07/16 M	Committee Membership Changes	PASS 6-0
EB17-004	Board	08/07/16 M	TDCC Decision upheld	PASS 6-0
EB17-005	Board	08/07/16 M	Ethics Committee Decision Affirmed	PASS 6-0
EB17-006	Priest	08/07/16 M	Clock Working Group	PASS 6-0
EB17-007	Nietman	08/07/16 M	Committee Member Additions	PASS 6-0
EB17-008				
EB17-009				
EB17-010				
EB17-011				
EB17-012				
EB17-013				
EB17-014				
EB17-015				
EB17-016				
EB17-017				
EB17-018				
EB17-019				
EB17-020				
EB17-021				
EB17-022				
EB17-023				
EB17-024				
EB17-025				
EB17-026				
EB17-027				
EB17-028				
EB17-029				
EB17-030				
EB17-031				
EB17-032				
EB17-033				
EB17-034				
EB17-035				
EB17-036				

The first meeting of the 2016-2017 US Chess Executive Board took place on August 7, 2016, at the Marriott Hotel in East Indianapolis, IN. Randy Bauer did not attend the meeting. Welcome to new EB members Chuck Unruh and Mike Hoffpauir. Thanks to Ruth Haring and Mike Atkins for their years of service on the EB.

The following five motions arose from closed session and were voted in open session later the same day:

EB17-001 - Board - The Executive Board names the following officers for 2016-2017: - PASSED 6-0

President Gary Walters
Vice President Randy Bauer
Vice President of Finance Allen Priest
Secretary Mike Nietman

EB17-002 – **Board** – The Executive Board names the following committee liaisons and chairs for 2016-2017: **PASSED 6-0** with Randy Bauer not voting. Please note that some Delegate appointed committees name their own chairs and the chair was listed as TBD (To Be Determined) in the motion. This table includes the chairs that became known after the motion.

Committee	Chair	EB Liaison
Anti-cheating*	Mike Atkins	Gary Walters
Audit (DEL)	TBD	Allen Priest
Awards	John Donaldson	Randy Bauer
Barber Tournament of K-8 Champions	Jon Haskel, Stephen Shutt Co-Chairs	Mike Nietman
Bylaws (DEL)	Harold J. Winston, Guy Hoffman Co-Chairs	Allen Priest
Chess in Education	John Buky	M. Nietman, A. Belakovskaia
Clock Working Group	Mike Atkins, Ryan Velez, Dan Rohde Co-Chairs	TBD
Clubs	TBD	Anjelina Belakovskaia
College Chess	Al Lawrence	Mike Nietman
Corporate Connections Task Force (TF)	TBD	Anjelina Belakovskaia
Correspondence Chess	Brad Rogers	Gary Walters
Cramer Awards	Frank Brady	Randy Bauer
Denker Invitational	Stephen Shutt, Jon Haskel Co-Chairs	Mike Nietman
Election (DEL)	Ken Ballou	Gary Walters
Ethics (DEL)	Alex Relyea	Gary Walters
FIDE Events	Carol Jarecki	Mike Hoffpauir
Finance	Jim Bedenbaugh	Allen Priest
Forum	Bob Messenger	Gary Walters, Allen Priest
Hall of Fame	Harold J. Winston	Gary Walters
Hall of Records	TBD	Mike Nietman
International Affairs	Michael Khodarkovsky	Allen Priest
Membership Acquisition and Retention TF	John McCrary	Mike Nietman
Military	Captain Thomas Belke, US Navy (Ret)	Mike Hoffpauir
National Event Advisory	TBD	Mike Hoffpauir
Outreach	Myron Lieberman	Anjelina Belakovskaia
Player Opportunity Fund	TBD	Gary Walters
PPHB Fund Management	John Donaldson	Allen Priest
Prison	Steve Frymer	Randy Bauer
Publications	John Hartmann	Randy Bauer
Ratings	Mark Glickman	Mike Hoffpauir
Rules	David Kuhns, Al Losoff Co-Chairs	Mike Hoffpauir
Scholastic Chess Council	Beatriz Marinello, TBD Co-Chairs	Mike Nietman
Senior	David Grimaud, Bill Daly Co-Chairs	Chuck Unruh
Special Needs and Circumstances*	Janelle Losoff	Chuck Unruh
States	Guy Hoffman	Chuck Unruh
Top Players	Camilla Baginskaite	Anjelina Belakovskaia
Tournament Director Certification (TDCC)	Jeff Wiewel, Chair, Tim Just Vice Chair	Mike Hoffpauir
US Chess Development	TBD	Gary Walters, Randy Bauer

Committee	Chair	EB Liaison
US Open	Hal Terrie III	Randy Bauer
Web Site Advisory (WSAC)	Brennan Price	Mike Nietman
Women's Chess	Maureen Grimaud	Chuck Unruh, A. Belakovskaia

EB17-003 – **Board** – The Executive Board makes the following committee membership changes: **PASSED 6-0** with Randy Bauer not voting

- a. Publications: Remove Thomas Langland and Diego Garces. Add Mark Capron and Frederick Rhine.
- b. College Chess: Add Claudia Munoz (TX) and David Mbonu (GA). Remove Clemente Rendon (TX) and Renier Gonzalez (FL)
- c. Scholastic Committee: Add Steve Shaughnessy (NCA), Joe Lonsdale (NCA) and Daniel Rohde (NY). Remove: Elizabeth Shaughnessy (NCA), Jim Dean (IN) and Tony Pabon (NCA)
- d. Scholastic Council: Add Sunil Weeramantry. Remove Mike Hoffpauir (VA)
- e. FIDE Events: Add Ruth Haring
- f. Rules: Add Myron Thomas and Michael Regan
- g. States: Add Robert Tanner (AZ) and Robert Messenger (MA)
- h. Forum: Add Tom Langland (NCA) and Terry Winchester (IN)
- i. Denker: Remove Tom Brownscombe (NV)
- i. Barber: Remove Tom Brownscombe (NV)
- k. TDCC: Add Mike Atkins (MD). Remove Tracy Vibbert (IN)
- 1. Membership Acquisition and Retention Task Force: Add Ruth Haring (NCA)
- m. Hall of Fame: Add Frank Camaratta (AL). Remove Shane Samole
- n. Website Advisory: Add Brennan Price, Anjelina Belakovskaia and Anand Dommalapati. Note that Claudia Munoz was previously added but not listed on the website.
- o. International Affairs: Add Ruth Haring
- p. Finance: Add Frank Camaratta
- US Chess Development: Add Ruth Haring, Michael Shurman, Bill Brock, John Rockefeller, Maureen Grimaud, Jay Stallings
- r. Women's: Add Ruth Haring, Elizabeth Shaughnessy, Leila D'quin and Rusty Harwood. Remove Jennifer Skidmore Smith and Nisha Dias
- s. Clock Working Group: Dan Rohde (NY), Ryan Velez (KY), Mike Atkins (MD), Mike Hoffpauir (VA), Steve Immitt (NY), Tim Just (IL), Dave Kuhns (MN), Allen Priest (KY), David Hater (GA)
- t. Prevention: Ned Wahl (MN)

EB17-004 –Board The Executive Board upholds the TDCC decision in Page vs. Maldonado. **PASSED 6-0** with Randy Bauer not voting.

EB17-005 – **Board** The Executive Board affirms the Ethics Committee decision in Ensey vs. Whitten. Mr. Whitten's US Chess membership is suspended beginning Monday, August 15, 2016, through August 14, 2022. **PASSED 6-0** with Randy Bauer not voting.

The following motions originated in Open Session:

EB17-006 - Priest— I move that the Executive Board establishes a Clock Working Group. The purpose of the working group is to develop a list of clock features that are required and /or recommended by the US Chess Rules of Chess and any clock features required and/or recommended by the FIDE Laws of Chess that are not in conflict with the US Chess Rules of Chess. Also the group will produce a report as a service to our members and to people who are new to chess assessing how various chess clocks meet those requirements. We expect that this list will be published on the US Chess website and made available at US Chess events.

This working group is not authorized to establish any list of "approved clocks", nor can it ask for any funding or fees from clock designers or manufacturers, nor can it officially authorize any manufacturer to list this list in advertising.

The working group is independent of clock designers and/or manufacturers, but may consult with them if the group deems necessary. **PASSED 6-0** with Randy Bauer not voting.

EB17-007 – Nietman - I move to add Renate Otterbach to the Chess in Education Committee and Frank Niro to the Clubs Committee. **PASSED 6-0** with Randy Bauer not voting,