2025 National State Invitationals Committee Report

Mike Nietman, Chair

The following national tournaments are under the jurisdiction of the National State Invitationals Committee:

- GM Arnold Denker National Tournament of High School State Champions
- WIM Ruth Haring National Tournament of Girls State Champions
- Dewain Barber National Tournament of Middle School State Champions
- John D. Rockefeller III National Tournament of Elementary School State Champions
- John T. Irwin National Tournament of Senior State Champions
- FM Sunil Weeramantry National Blitz Tournament of State Champions

2024 RESULTS

GM Arnold Denker National Tournament of High School State Champions

IM Sandeep Sethuraman (AZ), Avi Kaplan (IL) and FM Sharvesh Deviprasath (TX) won the 2024 Denker and while Sandeep was the winner of the \$5,000 college scholarship. Eric Feng (MA) was the winner of the \$500 Ursula Foster stipend for the best result under the age of 16. The cross table may be found at US Chess MSA - Cross Table for 40TH ANNUAL DENKER NATL TMT OF HS STATE CHAMPS (Event 202407303042).

WIM Ruth Haring National Tournament of Girls State Champions

WIM Zoey Tang (OR) won the Haring and was awarded the \$5,000 college scholarship. Megan Paragua (NY) was the winner of the \$500 Ursula Foster stipend for the best result under the age of 13. The cross table may be found at <u>US Chess MSA - Cross Table for 12TH ANNUAL HARING NATL TMT OF GIRLS STATE CHAMPS</u> (Event 202407303052).

Dewain Barber National Tournament of Middle School State Champions

Anjaneya Sripathy Rao (IL) won the Barber and the \$5,000 college scholarship. Harshin Reddy Jagirapu (NM) was the winner of the \$500 Barber stipend for the best result under the age of 12. The cross table may be found at <u>US Chess MSA - Cross Table for 14TH ANNUAL BARBER NATL TMT OF MS STATE CHAMPS (Event 202407303062)</u>.

John D. Rockefeller III National Tournament of Elementary School State Champions

Ted Wang (WA) and Vivan Prakash Mulay (FL) finished tied for first place. On tiebreaks the \$5,000 college scholarship went to Ted. Aidan Lunyuan (IL) was the winner of the \$500 Rockefeller stipend for the best result under the age of 9. The cross table may be found at <u>US Chess MSA - Cross Table for 5TH ANNUAL ROCKEFELLER NATL TMT OF ELEM ST CHAMPS (Event 202407303082)</u>.

John T. Irwin National Tournament of Senior State Champions

IM Nikoloz Managadze (NJ) won his second Irwin and \$2,500. GM Larry Kaufman (MD) won the \$500 Irwin prize for top player age 75 and over. The cross table may be found at <u>US Chess MSA - Cross Table</u> for 7TH ANNUAL IRWIN NATL TMT OF SENIOR STATE CHAMPS (Event 202407303092).

Team Competition

There was a four-way tie at 21 points in the team competition. Teams from Connecticut, Texas, Illinois and Arizona all tied for first. The team from Connecticut finished in first place on tiebreaks and won \$500 in US Chess Sales vouchers. The team was composed of their Denker representative IM Maximillian Lu, Haring representative Lilianna Gao, Rockefeller representative Lacey Wang, Barber representative Jasmine Zhixin Su, and Irwin representative Mikhail Koganov. Additional class prizes were won by teams from Washington, Wisconsin and the District of Columbia.

FM Sunil Weeramantry National Blitz Tournament of State Champions

The US Open started with the FM Sunil Weeramantry National Blitz Tournament of State Champions. A free event for all invitational participants that wanted to play. The event increased to five sections divided by rating. The 2100+ section was won by FM Terry Luo (DE) and IM Maximillian Lu (CT). The 1800-2099 section had a five-way tie for first. Lafayette Chen (OK), Nehanraj Ramesh (IA), John Drippe (KS), Kevin Zhao (MA) and Xavier Bruni (AL) all tied for first. In the 1500-1799 section there was a three-way tie between Rowan Foley (DC), Sophia Sun (KS) and Roesch Carson (WA). The 1200-1499 had a clear winner with Ishaan Harsha (WI) taking first place. In the Under 1200 section Ashot Hakobyan (RI) was the sole winner.

Best Practices Document for State Affiliates and Invitational Nominees

The committee made a few small changes to the Best Practices document to assist the states and families in understanding the nomination and confirmation process. This document offers suggestions (not mandates) on what to include in qualifying tournaments and e-mail alerts to look for from US Chess during the process. The updated document may be found at best-practices-for-state-affiliates-and-state-scholastic-coordinators-final.pdf.

2026 and Beyond

The committee confirmed with US Chess that space is available in 2026 to host an additional invitational. Thanks to the generosity of committee member John D. Rockefeller V, we are pleased to announce that the 1st GM Maurice Ashley National Tournament of State K-3 Champions will take place in Grand Rapids. States need to be aware of this so they can plan on a way to identify their 2026 Ashley rep. Note that the Rockefeller will remain K-5 so a state will need to decide which event to nominate a K-3 player should they win a K-5 section of their qualifying event. We are aware of the necessary format changes and precautions needed for this young group.